news @ er-c
EMS outstanding paper awards 2014 to ER-C staff and users

The Executive Board of the European Microscopy Society (EMS) has announced the winners of the EMS Outstanding Paper Award for the year 2014. A variety of high quality publications have been nominated by EMS members. Of these, three were selected as award winners, one in each category Instrumentation and Technique Development, Materials Sciences and Life Sciences. Staff of the Ernst Ruska-Centre are co-authors of two of the three award winning publications:

Materials Sciences: Polarity-Driven Polytypic Branching in Cu-Based Quaternary Chalcogenide Nanostructures by R R Zamani, M Ibanez, M Luysberg, N Garcia-Castello, L Houben, J D Prades, V Grillo, R E Dunin-Borkowski, J Ramon Morante, A Cabot, and J Arbiol, ACS Nano 8 (2014) 2290–2301 (2014)

The jury motivates the above decision as follows: “Zamani and co-workers have employed a sophisticated combination of aberration corrected STEM imaging, image simulation and ab-initio modelling to understand the role of polarity in the growth mechanism of Cu-based chalcogenide nano structures.”

Life Sciences: Cryo-scanning transmission electron tomography of vitrified cells by S Grayer Wolf, L  Houben and M Elbaum, Nature Methods 11 (2014) 423-429 (2014)

The jury motivates this decision as follows: “Wolf and co-workers have convincingly demonstrated that STEM has the potential to produce tomograms from unstained relatively thick cryo-sectional samples. These tomograms are shown to be less hampered by multiple scattering effects and chromatic aberration than tomograms recorded using TEM.”

The first authors of these publications will receive the respective awards during the award ceremony at the Microscience Microscopy Congress 2015 to be held in Manchester later this year.

Further reading:

EMS outstanding paper award pages
© by the er-c | inscreenum & contact |